The Early Years Foundation Stage

In the nursery schools and crèches our guiding principles are:

  • that children are active learners,
  • that learning is social and collaborative
  • that the role of the adult is crucial

We work hard to construct opportunities for your children to learn through the provision of an engaging, interesting and challenging environment that caters for all their learning needs as exemplified within the Early Years Foundation Stage.

In order to inform our understanding of child development through the early years of a child’s life we divide the curriculum into Prime Areas and Specific Areas.

The Prime Areas include the foundations for all learning

EYFS Prime Areas

The Specific Areas

EYFS Specific Areas

Prime areas are time-sensitive ~ if not securely in place by the age of five they will be more difficult to acquire and their absence may hold back the child’s learning in other areas.

Specific areas are less time-sensitive ~ they reflect cultural knowledge and accumulated understanding.  It is possible to acquire these bodies of knowledge at various stages through life.

Click here for the Government’s ‘Early Years Outcomes’ document, which contains a detailed breakdown of typical behaviour throughout the early years.